Everything to learn better...



Geometry - position and direction

Describing positions in the four quadrants

Describing positions in the four quadrants

Select Lesson

Explainer Video

Tutor: Labib


Describing positions in the four quadrants

​​In a nutshell

A coordinate grid has four separate sections called quadrants. When plotting points or carrying out transformations, you may need to use one or more of the four quadrants. 

Identifying the four quadrants

The 1st,2nd,3rd,1st, 2nd, 3rd,  and 4th4th quadrants are visualised below. The 2nd,3rd2nd, 3rd and 4th4th quadrants all involve negative numbers, either on the xx-axis, the yy-axis, or both. 

​​Plotting points

For any coordinate on a graph, the first value given is the xx-coordinate and the second value is the yy-coordinate. To plot a point, firstly find the xx-coordinate on the xx-axis, then either go up or down to the level of the yy-coordinate on the yy- axis. 

Note: If the yy​-coordinate is positive, move up and if the yy​-coordinate is negative, move down instead.


Plot the points A(6,7);B(2,4);C(3,3);D(2,5)A(6,7);B(-2,4);C(-3,-3);D(2,-5) on the grid below.

Maths; Geometry - position and direction; KS2 Year 6; Describing positions in the four quadrants

Point A: Find 6\underline{6} on the xx-axis, then move up 7\underline{7} spaces.

Point B: Find 2\underline{-2} on the xx-axis, then move up 4\underline{4} spaces.

Point C: Find 3\underline{-3} on the xx-axis, then move down 3\underline{3} spaces.

Point D: Find 2\underline{2} on the xx-axis, then move down 5\underline{5} spaces.


Note: "Along the corridor and up the stairs" is a reminder of the order in which to plot coordinates. 

Create an account to read the summary


Create an account to complete the exercises

FAQs - Frequently Asked Questions

Which quadrants use negative numbers?

What are the four sections of a graph called?


I'm Vulpy, your AI study buddy! Let's study together.